WatchBeast

For when you need more time…

Watch Spotting – Graham GMT Chronofighter

Leave a comment

We were out this weekend with some pals of ours and the guy had brought his Graham GMT Oversize Chronofighter along to show me. So I had to give it a go on my wrist as you do. This is a seriously big watch, which oozes testosterone with every design cue, from the oversized GMT hand to the oversized GMT lettering, to the bold black and red bezel and a trigger which wouldn’t look out of place over the push button of an atomic bomb in a Bond Movie. I guess the clue to the watches intentions is right in front of you on the watch face with the word “OVERSIZE”. The case is 47mm in diameter and yet even on my small wrist it wears well. One reason is that the huge trigger system wears up your wrist so it doesn’t dig in your hand when you flex it on your wrist in the way that the crown does on a few of my own larger watches. In fact this watch was very comfortable on my wrist and the strap fitted perfectly, even on my tiny wrist. My pal’s watch came on a rubber strap and I am a big fan of these, they are very comfortable for me and in this case it  reinforces the more casual and rugged look of the watch. I liked this watch a lot in fact. To be honest previously, I had only really seen them on the internet and had not taken much notice of them, dismissing them as just too big for me, but on testing, this is a watch I would love to have. I would wear it a lot and would enjoy it being on the wrist without doubt. Sadly the truth was I tried everything to wrestle this beauty out of my mate’s hands but the bottom line was he could just drink more than me! In fact I was so smitten with this watch, I ended up walking out of the restaurant and leaving my phone behind! Luckily it was safe when I went back for it, but it demonstrates the extent to which I was smitten!

Blue

Graham is a British manufacturer of haute horology, deriving its name from the  famed clockmaker George Graham. The company manufactures mostly in Switzerland and uses a combination of bespoke movements as well as some modified ETA pieces.

The Chronofighter is a bit different and a bit more interesting. First, this is one of Graham’s flagship watches. It contains an automatic caliber G1733, which I believe is Graham’s first in-house movement and it comes with a big date at twelve o’clock and a large GMT hand. The chronograph has a unique pusher cum crown arrangement to stop and start measurements and a plunger-like pusher.

The trigger stops and starts the chronograph while at the same time protecting the crown. The case as mentioned,  is 47mm in diameter and the watch is quite thick, with a signed, solid case back. It is water resistant to 100 metres, but despite the rubber strap I would not consider this a swim watch.

On my wrist, with the rubber strap, the watch is surprisingly light and the trigger on the side while perhaps being an acquired taste was surprisingly very comfortable for me.

It has been said often that Graham is a polarizing watch company that jumped into the big watch trend with indecent haste.  True perhaps, but boy what fun it is to wear this watch. I use the word “boy” deliberately, because it brings the boy out in you. I was a kid again, knocking on my mate’s door to see if he was playing out. A fully loaded Johnny Seven gun in my right hand and my Chronofighter on my left wrist! The piece is bold and very eye-catching loaded with British pedigree and “tool” like manliness but they come with a manly price too well on the wrong side of £7000.

Would I though in all honesty recommend this watch, with its big and brash styling and its loud and proud approach to life and its frankly garish demeanour?  You bet your life I would, the Chronofighter GMT  is a huge watch for people who like huge watches and, for the money, I haven’t seen anything  that can beat it in terms of impact, usabilty, and utter boysiness!.

Green

Graham-GMT Red

Author: ibeastie

Interested in Photography, Watches, Style and Cars

Leave a Reply

