WatchBeast

For when you need more time…

Christopher Ward C70 DBR1 – Watch Collection No 12b

Leave a comment

The Driver’s Watch

Christopher Ward watches are sold via the Internet, designed in London and manufactured in Switzerland using high quality Swiss movements for  both the Quartz and automatic models in his range. The C70 range began life as a collection of 6 models each celebrating the first Grand Prix race held in the particuar country the watch celebrates. Each was limited to just 500 watches.

The C70 DBR1 is a stand alone model in the same style and again it is limited to 500 watches. It celebrates the 1959 Le Mans Victory of the Aston Martin DBR1.

Aston Martin is one of the great English marques that inspires the Christopher Ward team. As CWL say, the understated beauty of every Aston Martin is combined with a precision and power that is unique in the world of motor manufacture and is even the case when they turn their hand to motor sport.

David Brown (the DB that pre-fixes their model names) bought Aston Martin in 1947 and was determined to build on the company’s motor racing heritage, a vision that reached its ultimate fruition in 1959 when the magnificent DBR1/300 car took first and second places in the Le Mans 24 Hour Race and ultimately went on to win that years World Sportscar Championship.

The C70 DBR1 is the perfect watch for anyone who admires this quintessentially English sports car marque.

 

Christopher Ward watch

I had wanted a C70 as soon as the range was launched and my initial dilemma was deciding which one to pick, I liked them all, but narrowed it down to The Brooklands (The British Model) or the Italian Rossso Corsa. Funds also meant the purchase would not be impulsive. In the interim The DBR1 was added and this really grabbed my attention. The DBR1 car is green with white circles with the racing number on and the design of the CWL C70 DBR1 captures this perfectly and the lovely green bezel was simply icing on the cake. This was to be the model. Meanwhile two of my friends from the MINI community had jumped in and bought one each. That was it, I had to be a part of that club and this week I took the plunge and got my very own C70 DBR1.

I got home from work to find the parcel waiting for me, smothered in brown wapping tape and like a 5 year old on Christmas day I battled with the tape to get to the contents. I have to say the presentation box is first class, right up there with my Breitling Box and probably better than my Chopard case, even if that did come with its own DVD!.

I opened the box and there it was nestling on a soft green background, with its own plaque denoting its limited edition serial number. The watch looked simply stunning and I examined it all over quite frankly in complete awe. Not a blemish on it and bulit to first class standards. This watch really does box above its weight, the quality is weigh above its current £330 price point.

Next step a quick adjustment to the buterrfly clasp to size it to my wrist and on it went. My next happy surprise was how comfortable it was. I think this is the most comfortable to wear watch in my whole collection. I have to keep checking to see if it is on my wrist and then I am mesmerised by its beauty. Someone at work saw me glance at my watch and as I turned away asked me the time. I had to look again as I hadn’t clocked the time I had just been admiring the beauty of the watch!

Three days later and the watch is still the one that goes on the wrist. Soon it will go on rotation with my other CWLs and the rest of my collection but this one is right up there with my favourites and I think having seen this in the flesh and knowing how comfortable it is, another C70 might well beckon!

 

Features:

  • Worldwide limited edition of only 500 pieces
  • Swiss made
  • 22 jewel Swiss quartz movement
  • Convex Anti-reflective sapphire crystal with anti-reflective coating
  • Adjustable quick-release butterfly clasp
  • Screw-in crown
  • Chronographic dials with split minutes / seconds /1/10 seconds
  • Tachymeter bezel
  • Deluxe box upgrade
  • Water resistance 10 atm
  • Spanish ’Toro Bravo’ Italian leather strap
  • Unique engraved individual serial number
  • Beautiful presentation case and owner’s handbook

Technical:

 

  • Diameter: 42mm
  • Height: 10.7mm
  • Weight: 90g
  • Calibre: ETA 251.272
  • Vibrations: n/a
Here is the C70DBR1 caught with my mate Dealmaker’s DBR1 – dreamimg of the Monaco Grand Prix!
 
Author: ibeastie

Interested in Photography, Watches, Style and Cars

Leave a Reply

