WatchBeast

For when you need more time…

Christopher Ward C60 Trident – Watch Collection No 15

Leave a comment

The Trident Watch

This is my fifth Christopher Ward watch, so clearly they are doing something that I like. Put simply they have the right combination of quality, style and prestige at an affordable price. At a price that allows me to become a watch collector.

This model, known as the Trident due to the rather stylish Trident design that sits on the back end of the seconds finger is an exclusive limited edition run. It has been commissioned for the independent Christopher Ward Forum as the 2012 Forum Ltd Edition. Christopher Ward is a keen supporter of the forum, while at the same time recognising the imprtance of it remaining fully independent of his business. His support has resulted in a limited edition most years of the Forum’s life. This year he offerred the Trident as the base model and the colours were chosen by Forum members. This resulted in a limited edition of 100 watches, 50 in the blue you see here and 50 in red.

This is my first Forum Limited Edition and I am nothing short of delighted about it. The watch has 3 features unique to its limited edition status. First is the blue bezel, which for me is the perfect shade of blue – bright enough not to be mistaken for black and understated enough to be classy. Second is is the blue matching face with a subtle wavy pattern, which for me underpins the watches credentials as a dive watch, especially when combined with the Trident second finger. The third unique feature is the back. This is adorned with the Trident symbol (as are all the Trident models) but uniquely  states “Forum LE 2012 020/100.” I like this, it makes the watch feel extra special. The unique Forum LE blue dial and face are simply beautiful and the watch can be dressed up to a suit or dressed down to jeans. Er… I guess it all boils down to what attire you prefer to dive in!

The watch’s diving credentials, as have been stated are underpinned by the Trident second finger and back, allied to the wavy styled face. More serious credentials though are the 1000 feet dive capabilty, the 4.00 mm anti-reflective saphire glass, the uni directional bezel and the diver’s extension built into the bracelet clasp, so that the watch can be worn over a diving suit, simply by opening the folding extension. In my case a spot of beach snorkelling is the most serious work it will do but the geek in me still likes this neat touch.

When I first opened the box and saw the watch, I was immediately smitten. It oozed quality, I loved the onion style fingers but what I really like is the way they taper to a very fine point, which shouts precision at me. I hadn’t really appreciated this from seeing photographs of the watch. I love the simple use of colours too – blue face, blue bezel, white hands and numerals, white date back and a hint of red on the tip of the second hand. Quietly stylish and the 4.00 mm anti-reflective saphire glass really lets you see this style.

As I picked the watch up its weight impressed me too. I like a watch with a bit of weight it gives it a solid, sturdy feel. I had just taken my Breitling Navitimer off to try this one on and both felt suitably and similarly weighty in my hand. I removed three links and got the perfect size for me.

I have picked up on two criticisms that have been levelled at this watch. First the date hole, which is at for o’clock, rather than three as on the Rolex it takes a bow to. Only actually it isn’t. The top of the rectangular date hole lines up with 4 o’clock with the date hole dropping down from this point.  Many hate this lack of symmetry and feel that the date hole should be exactly where the batton for 4 would be, that is equi-distant between the baton for 3 and the dot for 5. It isn’t. If I stare at a blown up photograph of this watch for long enough I can convince myself that this is a problem. However, in the flesh it just isn’t an issue for me whatsoever and quite simply I see it as an endearing Christopher Ward quirk that sets the watch apart from the rest. Secondly, this watch sports a brand new bracelet from Christopher Ward, which includes a diver’s extension concealed in the clasp. The clasp has a 5 position micro adjustment but due to the concealed diver extension, two of the micro adjustments cannot be used as they would leave no room for the diver’s extension to reside in. I have no answer to this. In my case the micro adjustment is set in the middle postion so it is not a problem to me. The bracelet is very comfortable and the combination of polished and brushed links looks fabulous and combines well with the watch case itself.

There is not a lot more for me to say. I am just a very happy chappie with a very good looking watch that oozes quality. Just buy one. Oh you can’t it’s a limited edition! Shame. Still all is not lost Christopher Ward has a range of C60 watches for mere mortals. Check those out!

Meanwhile here are the Trident Specs and  some of the watch description from the Christopher Ward website.

“The Trident series unashamedly takes its design cues from the iconic 1954 Rolex GMT Master which was the world’s first ever dual-time watch – and the C60 Trident – Pro Automatic is no exception.

Whilst the C60 Automatic can’t describe the time in two time zones simultaneously, like its stable companion the C60 GMT, this automatic, powered as it is, by the famous ETA 2824-2 / Sellita SW200-1 movement is a premium diving watch which has been engineered for perfection and that famous Swiss precision.”

Features

  • Swiss made
  • 25/26 Jewel automatic movement
  • 38 hr power reserve
  • Marine grade stainless steel case
  • Uni-directional bezel
  • Screw-in crown and back plate
  • 30 atm (1000 feet) water resistant case
  • 4.0mm Anti-reflective sapphire crystal
  • Adjustable bracelet with easy opening butterfly clasp
  • Super-Luminova indices, bezel marker and hands
  • Unique engraved individual serial number
  • Beautiful presentation case and owner’s handbook

Technical

  • Diameter: 42mm
  • Height: 13mm
  • Weight: 189g
  • Calibre: ETA 2824-2 / Sellita SW200-1
  • Strap: 316L Stainless Steel
  • Vibrations: 28,800 per hour

Author: ibeastie

Interested in Photography, Watches, Style and Cars

Leave a Reply

